My Myriad Curl Patterns

Taking care of varying curl patterns is a challenge and a gift.  A challenge because finding just the right product combination took a long time (around 9 months post BC for me), but in the end it is so worth it. All the trial and error finally paid off and though shrinkage is a major part of my hair journey, Katie Kaboom’s health and growth are awesome.  A gift because it is so versatile and the arrangement of the different curl patterns and associated shrinkage on my head makes for a shaped wash and go, no stylist or scissors involved. 🙂  Though the shrinkage does require me to remind myself: (1) a lot of youtube naturals transitioned before the BC; and (2) hair grows at different rates for different people.

Grid 1 is a second day wash n go using the LCOG method (yup, I made up another acronym as if we need anymore!).  Leave-in: TJ’s Tea Tree Tingle Conditioner.  Creme: my revised Naptural85’s shea butter creme mix.  Gel: Ecostyler Olive Oil.

2014.1.14 GRID Curl Pattern Montage

Grid 2 is a montage of my hair over the past two months (except for the bottom).  Top left: wet and freshly out of the shower with TJ’s TTT conditioner only.  Top right: LCOG method.  Bottom left: 5th day wash and go.  Bottom right: 10.5 month shrinkage/length check.

2014-1-2-my-hair-texture-collage.jpg

Until next time, happy hair care! 🙂

Leave a Reply

