PRODUCT REVIEW: Aphogee Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor

This is a protein treatment.  Once again, I’ve been flaking on consistent deep conditioning and Katie Kaboom finally put her foot down.  Since my normal regimen does not include a protein emphasis and my strands were tending toward elasticity, I knew Katie was preparing a Kaboom! if I did not give her protein stat.  I went with the 2 minute treatment for a few reasons.  First, I did not need a drastic treatment, as my strands were still in pretty good shape; not too brittle, not too elastic, but tending towards elasticity.  Second, I did not want to be a mixologist on this one because I have heard/read, so many good things about this product.  Third, it was listed as a medium intensity protein product in “The Science of Black Hair.”

Application: in the shower, I sectioned my hair into four squares and liberally applied the product to each section.  Since the product unexpectedly provided an abundance of slip, I detangled each section after applying it (not sure I will repeat this step in the future though).  After application and detangling, I put on a shower cap and went about my sauna-temperatured shower.  About 5-7 minutes after, I rinsed out the Aphogee and conditioned as usual with my Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle conditioner.  I followed by normal styling routine.

Results: Katie is happy overall once again.  However, I did notice that my coils were elongated in a few areas of my hair, especially in the front of my hair where my curls tend to be more loose.  This led to more frizz than normal in the hair on both temples of my head.  This area tends to be more frizzy and less curly regularly, but I noticed a marked increase immediately following the deep condition with this product.  It has been almost a week since the DC and I like the results on my hair.  In the future, I will likely leave it on for less time and detangle prior to applying the product.

Have you tried this product?  What do you think?  Do you have another medium-intensity protein deep conditioner you prefer?  If so, do tell.

Until next time, xoxo.

KeratinRecon_8oz

Leave a Reply

